A Birthday Celebration

A year older, a year wiser.

As I celebrate the day of my birth, I am conscious of the need to reflect on the way I’ve lived my life up till now. Have I done all I could, have I given all could? Am I doing what I was put on this earth to do? Some of those questions I can answer, others are harder to face.

Warmed by the overwhelming love I’ve received from family & friends today and giving all glory and honor to God for all that he has done and is doing with my life. I am thankful for the gift of LIFE. To be alive for another day is a blessing.

On my reflections the thought comes to mind….What do I value on a day like this? Is it the gifts, the cake, the braai meat, the phone calls and celebratory messages?

It doesn’t take long to realize that my most prized possession in this world… Relationships.

These transcend the boundaries of wealth, beliefs, color or creed. I am a sum total of the relationships I have and people I have touched with my life. I have chosen to grow and nurture certain relationships over others and at times I have been foolish, naïve, stubborn and let go of some relationships that I should have fought to keep. I reflect on what those relationships have taught me about life.

To those whom I love the most – my family. They continually sharpen and mold me to value the truly important things in life. God First, Family comes next then everything else follows. On this day, I reflect humbly on the recent passing of my grandmother and hold dear to my heart the family values she instilled in me: Love, honor and respect everyone you meet. When you speak to people, speak with grace, patience and love.

What a day, thank you Lord for your grace and patience with me! May i become all that i have been called to be and reflect the heart of God through my life.

Happy Birthday to me…

Image

Leave a Reply

